Annoying things I wish my body wouldn’t do – Part 2

With temperatures in the UK plummeting this week, my body has gone into overdrive. Streaming tears outside, overheating on the tube and sore ears when running are just a few of the annoying things it’s done to compensate for the Arctic (I swear I’m not exaggerating…) conditions.

Here’s Part 2 of Annoying things I wish my body wouldn’t do.

Foot cramps when swimming

I can’t be the only person who’s dived into a pool, only to have the most intense cramp in my toe to the point where I have to haul myself out the pool and roll around on the edge to try to save the little piggy. It’s almost as if my foot is trying to do the Vulcan salute – a feat which is not so easy with your foot (seriously, try it).

Spock_performing_Vulcan_salute

So why does this happen to my toes and not other parts of the body?

Well, because the toes are the so far away from the heart, the amount of blood your toes receive is limited, in comparison to the amount other muscles get. This results in a lack of oxygen and important salts and ions, making toes more prone to fatigue and dehydration. This is when cramp in the toes usually develops.

But why in water? 

While it may not seem like your muscles are exerting much energy, the resistance underwater makes every movement more difficult, and muscles are forced to exert more energy. For example, if you try walking through a pool, it’s surprisingly difficult and will leave you more tired than you’d expect.

Out of the water, our little toes aren’t used to exerting this much energy, and so rarely cramp.

Eyes crying in the cold

While I’ve definitely used the “I swear I’m not crying, I’ve just got something in my eye” excuse in many a soppy film, in winter, there’s absolutely no hiding the fact that my eyes are constantly streaming. When an icy blast of wind hits, I may not be best pleased about it, but I don’t think I’m upset enough to start crying – so why does this happen?

image1

When our eyes get too dry, they produce tears in a response to protect the layer at the front of the eye, known as the cornea. In cold wind, the moisture in your eyes quickly evaporates, and to compensate, your eyes produce excess tears.

If you see someone out and about in London wearing ski goggles, you’ll know it’s me.

Let me know if your body does any more annoying things, and I’ll do my best to help you work out why!

Leave a comment